Card of the Day: 2013 Topps Five Star Brett Favre /208

It’s official: this weekend I will graduate from college! As such, I’ve decided to treat myself and spend a little more than I usually do on cards. Luckily for me my favorite high end product of the year was just recently released: 2013 Topps Five Star Football. Anyone who reads the blog or follows me on Twitter knows that I’m currently working to build the base set from ’13 Five Star baseball so it should come as no surprise that I LOVE the football set this year. These are some of the best designs on any cards anywhere in my opinion – they even beat their baseball counterparts if you ask me.

This particular Brett Favre card is numbered 81/208 — I don’t know how they chose 208 but I like that it makes them cheaper and more available than the baseball ones /75 (the prices on the baseball ones have sky-rocketed by the way). Favre was the only Packers quarterback that I knew for the first 15-16 years of my life (his Packers debut more or less coincided with my birth year). I love me some A-Rodg, but I have so many fond memories of watching the Gunslinger throw bombs down field. Needless to say, this card is a VERY welcome addition to the collection and perhaps this is the cornerstone of another Five Star base set. Stay tuned.

This entry was posted in Card of the Day, Football, Packers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

